J Sainsbury plc announces Board change

Anna Ford

As previously announced, Bob Stack, Non Executive Director, will step down from the Board of J Sainsbury plc at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting to be held at 11:00 today. A search is well under way for a new Non Executive Director to join the Sainsbury’s Board.

Mary Harris, who has been a Non Executive Director of Sainsbury's since 2007, will succeed Bob as Chairman of the Remuneration Committee. John McAdam will join the Remuneration Committee as the third independent Non Executive Director on the Committee.

The Company also announces that Anna Ford has decided to stand down as a Non Executive Director and will leave the Board at the end of December. 

David Tyler, Chairman, J Sainsbury plc, said: "I would like to thank Anna for her outstanding contribution since her appointment in May 2006, both as a valued member of the Board and as Chairman of our Corporate Responsibility Committee. During her tenure, Corporate Responsibility has become an integral part of the Company's business and is key to achieving our vision to be the most trusted retailer where people love to work and shop. We have benefited tremendously from Anna's broad experience and skills."

Anna Ford said: "I have thoroughly enjoyed my time on the Sainsbury's Board, and in particular the opportunity to serve as Chairman of the CR Committee since January 2007. It has been a pleasure to have been part of one of the UK's most successful companies and I leave knowing that Sainsbury's is not only well positioned for further success, but that it has an outstanding reputation for sustainability, demonstrating the value of values."

A search will be conducted for a new Non Executive Director to join the Sainsbury's Board to replace Anna after her departure.

Notes to editors

Following the changes above the Board and Committees of J Sainsbury plc will consist of:

David Tyler (Also Chairman of Nomination Committee

Executive Directors x 3
Justin King (Chief Executive and a member of Corporate Responsibility Committee)
Mike Coupe (Group Commercial Director)
John Rogers (Chief Financial Officer)

Non-Executive Directors x 5
Matt Brittin (Member of Audit and Nomination Committees)
Anna Ford (Chairman of Corporate Responsibility Committee, and member of Remuneration and Nomination Committees)
Mary Harris (Chairman of the Remuneration Committee, and Member of Corporate Responsibility and Nomination Committees)
Gary Hughes (Chairman of Audit Committee and member of Nomination Committee)
John McAdam (Senior Independent Director and member of Audit, Remuneration and Nomination Committees)



About the article

  • Posted on: 11 July 2012
  • Type of article: Press release